Pages: (9) 1 2 3 4 5 ... Last » ( Go to first unread post ) Add ReplyNew Thread

 Custom Forum Structure, Jcink
Hollywood
 Posted: February 11th, 2014, 10:07 PM
Quote
Newbie
Posts:3Group:New MemberJoined:February 11th, 2014
Send Message


Alright, so I'm just having the absolute worst go at this, probably because I'm doing it all wrong. Basically, I want to completely rearrange the Main Profile page, and as a test, I've placed the basic html styling I'm going to use for the beef of it into the html area of the Profile code. Despite this, the profile pages show absolutely no change.

Edit:
I removed all of the "" from my html and was still having a problem. Obviously somebody knows nothing about javascript because it took me forever to realize that my issue was that by pressing enter to separate areas of the code visually, I was literally putting a break in the script. '<br>' Suddenly makes even more sense now. dry.gif

This post has been edited by Hollywood: February 12th, 2014, 09:56 AM
AMB Tanz
 Posted: February 12th, 2014, 09:22 AM
Quote
Newbie
Posts:6Group:New MemberJoined:November 6th, 2013
Send Message


Hey Black, seems like the {%friends} for custom profile is bugged? When I tested it and added friends, the page of the user stopped showing up. It worked fine in profiles who didn't have friends though.

This post has been edited by AMB Tanz: February 12th, 2014, 09:22 AM
Black
 Posted: February 12th, 2014, 09:54 AM
Quote
Finally finished.
Posts:290Group:AdministratorJoined:July 14th, 2013
Send Message


QUOTE (Hollywood @ February 11th, 2014, 10:07 PM)
Alright, so I'm just having the absolute worst go at this, probably because I'm doing it all wrong. Basically, I want to completely rearrange the Main Profile page, and as a test, I've placed the basic html styling I'm going to use for the beef of it into the html area of the Profile code. Despite this, the profile pages show absolutely no change.

In JavaScript, strings like the one you're passing to html can't contain regular line breaks:

CODE
var exampleString = "this
won't work";

You can do something like this...

CODE
var exampleString = "this"
+ "will work";

...or...

CODE
var exampleString = "this\
might work";

...but that second one might not be universally supported across all browsers, so I wouldn't advise it. Your other option is to remove all extraneous line breaks from the html property, but this will make it more difficult to read.

Try adjusting for this first, and then please let me know if the problem persists.

Edit: Whoops, you snuck an edit in just before I posted this saying much the same thing. Sorry for the late reply!

QUOTE (AMB Tanz @ February 12th, 2014, 09:22 AM)
Hey Black, seems like the {%friends} for custom profile is bugged? When I tested it and added friends, the page of the user stopped showing up. It worked fine in profiles who didn't have friends though.


Interesting. Will look into it, thanks! In the meantime, can you point me to where you're experiencing this?

This post has been edited by Black: February 12th, 2014, 09:55 AM
Hollywood
 Posted: February 12th, 2014, 09:57 AM
Quote
Newbie
Posts:3Group:New MemberJoined:February 11th, 2014
Send Message


Hahah what timing!

Good note about the + and /'s however, I thought I was going to have to deal with a huge wall of html. That would've been horrific, especially considering I pretty much just over-code everything.

Man I am just full of edits today as well. Great script, thank you so much for the response!

This post has been edited by Hollywood: February 12th, 2014, 09:59 AM
Hollywood
 Posted: February 12th, 2014, 10:53 AM
Quote
Newbie
Posts:3Group:New MemberJoined:February 11th, 2014
Send Message


Again, the code is terminating itself, no doubt due to some silly mistake I'm making.
CODE
<script>

customProfile.init({
html: var exampleString = "<table cellspacing=6 cellpadding=0 width=100% border=0>"
+"<tr>";
+"<td style=width:211px valign=top class=profile-left>";
+"<table align=center width=72% cellspacing=10><tr><Td colspan=5><h4>{%name}</h4></td>";
+"</tr>";
+"<tr>";
+"<td align=center><small><b>gender</b></small><br>GENDER</td>";
+"<td align=center><small><b>age</b></small><br>AGE</td>";
+"<td align=center><small><b>height</b></small><br>HEIGHT</td>";
+"<td align=center><small><b>weight</b></small><br>WEIGHT</td>";
+"<td align=center><small><b>birth season</b></small><br>BIRTH SEASON</td>";
+"</tr>";
+"<tr>";
+"<td align=center><small><b>sexuality</b></small><br>SEXUALITY</td>";
+"<td align=center><small><b>voice</b></small><br>VOICE ACTOR</td>";
+"<td align=center><small><b>wing</b></small><br>WING</td>";
+"<td align=center><small><b>weyrmate</b></small><br>WEYRMATE</td>";
+"<td align=center><small><b>rank</b></small><br>RANK</td>";
+"</tr>";
+"<tr>";
+"<td colspan=5><h4>Appearance</h4></td>";
+"</tr>";
+"<tr>";
+"<td colspan=5>APPEARANCE</td>";
+"</tr>";
+"<tr><td align=center colspan=5></td></tr>";
+"<tr>";
+"<td colspan=5><h4>Personality</h4></td>";
+"</tr>";
+"<td colspan=5>PERSONALITY</td>";
+"</tr>";
+"<tr><td align=center colspan=5></td></tr>";
+"<tr>";
+"<td colspan=5><h4>History</h4></td>";
+"</tr>";
+"<td colspan=5>HISTORY</td>";
+"</tr>";
+"<tr><td align=center colspan=5></td></tr>";
+"</table>";
+"<Br><Br>";
+"<br><img class=profile src=DRAGON IMAGE id=pic2><br>";
+"<table align=center width=72% cellspacing=10>";
+"<tr>";
+"<td colspan=4><h4>DRAGON NAME</h4></td>";
+"</tr>";
+"<tr>";
+"<td align=center><Small><b>pronunciation</b></small><br>PRONUNCIATION</td>";
+"<td align=center><Small><b>hex code</b></small><Br>FONT COLOR</td>";
+"<td align=center><small><b>gender</b></small><br>GENDER</td>";
+"<td align=center><small><b>age</b></small><br>AGE</td>";
+"</tr>";
+"<tr>";
+"<td align=center><small><b>color</b></small><br>COLOR</td>";
+"<td align=center><small><b>size</b></small><br>SIZE</td>";
+"<td align=center><small><b>voice</b></small><br>VOICE ACTOR</td>";
+"<td align=center><small><b>mate</b></small><br>MATE</td>";
+"</tr>";
+"<tr>";
+"<td colspan=4><h4>Appearance</h4></td>";
+"</tr>";
+"<td colspan=4>DRAGON APPEARANCE</td>";
+"</tr>";
+"<tr><td align=center colspan=4></td></tr>";
+"<tr>";
+"<td colspan=4><h4>Personality</h4></td>";
+"</tr>";
+"<td colspan=4>DRAGON PERSONALITY</td>";
+"</tr>";
+"<tr><td align=center colspan=4></td></tr>";
+"</table>";
+"<br><br>";
+"<table align=center width=72% cellspacing=10>";
+"<tr>";
+"<td colspan=6><h4>Pets</h3></td>";
+"</tr>";
+"<tr>";
+"<td colspan=6>PET DESCRIPTIONS</td>";
+"</tr>";
+"<tr><Td align=center colspan=6></td>";
+"</tr></table>"
});
</script>


QUOTE (Black @ February 12th, 2014, 08:54 AM)
QUOTE (Hollywood @ February 11th, 2014, 10:07 PM)
Alright, so I'm just having the absolute worst go at this, probably because I'm doing it all wrong. Basically, I want to completely rearrange the Main Profile page, and as a test, I've placed the basic html styling I'm going to use for the beef of it into the html area of the Profile code. Despite this, the profile pages show absolutely no change.

In JavaScript, strings like the one you're passing to html can't contain regular line breaks:

CODE
var exampleString = "this
won't work";

You can do something like this...

CODE
var exampleString = "this"
+ "will work";

...or...

CODE
var exampleString = "this\
might work";

...but that second one might not be universally supported across all browsers, so I wouldn't advise it. Your other option is to remove all extraneous line breaks from the html property, but this will make it more difficult to read.

Try adjusting for this first, and then please let me know if the problem persists.

Edit: Whoops, you snuck an edit in just before I posted this saying much the same thing. Sorry for the late reply!

QUOTE (AMB Tanz @ February 12th, 2014, 09:22 AM)
Hey Black, seems like the {%friends} for custom profile is bugged? When I tested it and added friends, the page of the user stopped showing up. It worked fine in profiles who didn't have friends though.


Interesting. Will look into it, thanks! In the meantime, can you point me to where you're experiencing this?

Black
 Posted: February 12th, 2014, 01:44 PM
Quote
Finally finished.
Posts:290Group:AdministratorJoined:July 14th, 2013
Send Message


Ah, sorry. I was just giving an example of declaring a generic variable in JavaScript, and the syntax won't work inside the script. Nix the var exampleString = portion of your hmtl property, like so:

CODE
html: "<table cellspacing=6 cellpadding=0 width=100% border=0>"
+ etc etc
Black
 Posted: March 2nd, 2014, 02:12 PM
Quote
Finally finished.
Posts:290Group:AdministratorJoined:July 14th, 2013
Send Message


Just posting a quick update.

A few people have requested the addition of a module to customize the way posts are displayed. Mostly I've been tinkering with this in my off-time over other things, and though I have a kind of beta version completed I've run into a few glaring difficulties with the use of the [doHTML] tag. Since a ton of roleplaying forums use it for post templates and such(and even I use it here on Code occasionally), I can't release the work I've completed until I can find a suitable solution to this problem.

I can't yet give a time of completion, but rest assured I'm still working to improve what I already have.

Thank you!
MAX ROCKATANSKY
 Posted: March 11th, 2014, 03:26 AM
Quote
Advanced Member
Posts:65Group:MemberJoined:November 19th, 2013
Send Message


hey dearest i have a little bug going on in the custom profile - when i put my custom profile fields, it makes me add one to the field it should be. so like to pull up field_10 (according to the custom profile fields page in the acp), i have to put {%field#11}.

also is there any way to force the {%name} variable into two lines? i'm working on this custom profile and i'd really like if the box where the character's name goes always had their first name and last names with a line break between even on shorter names, but i don't know how to do that without making custom profile fields to enter them in separately which i'd rather not do because i don't like to introduce a bunch of superfluous nonsense if it's not necessary. (i accept that it's probably not possible so i'll live but i figured it doesn't hurt to ask.)

This post has been edited by JON SNOW.: March 11th, 2014, 03:32 AM
Black
 Posted: March 11th, 2014, 07:55 AM
Quote
Finally finished.
Posts:290Group:AdministratorJoined:July 14th, 2013
Send Message


That first issue is probably related to this somehow. It's just that I haven't been able to account for the entire plethora of options available on user profiles, though I think I did pretty well considering how many of them there actually are. It's probably inconvenient, but if bumping up the value works, then hey- at least it works. Sorry in the meantime!

As for the second, you could try something like

CODE
.name {
   word-spacing: [width of this element];
}

and that should force each word onto a new line, I'm thinking. But, only if we're dealing with fixed-width elements here. Once you go fluid-width it's not as reliable.
MAX ROCKATANSKY
 Posted: March 11th, 2014, 12:35 PM
Quote
Advanced Member
Posts:65Group:MemberJoined:November 19th, 2013
Send Message


i had wondered if it was something like that.

and that did work, thanks so much!
MAX ROCKATANSKY
 Posted: March 11th, 2014, 07:05 PM
Quote
Advanced Member
Posts:65Group:MemberJoined:November 19th, 2013
Send Message


HAHA JK.

SORRY FOR THE DOUBLE POST, FIRST OF ALL.

for some of my members it shows up like this and this on hover. it's definitely pulling the wrong custom fields. i've gotten two reports so far and asked everyone to let me know if they're having the same problem. one of them is running windows/chrome, and the other is running mac/chrome. plus a third member says it's fine on chrome for her, but looks like that on her phone and in firefox. i'm running mac/chrome and it works for me. one of my members updated her flash to see if that would fix it but it didn't.

for reference in case it doesn't work for you either, here's what it looks like for me: this and this on hover.

here's a rundown of my custom fields and what their field numbers are - first as it's listed in the acp, second how it calls up in the cfs. it's also probably worth noting that when i put {%field#1}, it calls up a date - but I don't know what that date is. Last post maybe?

Member's Name: field_1 - {%field#2}
Secondary Image/GIF: field_2 - {%field#3}
Application Link: field_3 - {%field#4}
Plot Page Link: field_4 - {%field#5}
Lyrics/Quote: field_5 - {%field#6}
Character Age: field_6 - {%field#7} (calls up field_10 instead in the messed up version.)
Character Loyalty: field_7 - {%field#8} (calls up field_11 instead.)
Character Occupation: field_8 - {%field#9} (doesn't call up anything - just displays {%field#9})
Member Group Colour: field_9 - {%field#10} (doesn't call up anything - just displays {%field#10})
MP3 URL: field_10 - {%field#11} (doesn't call up anything - just displays {%field#11})
Profile Picture: field_11 - {%field#12} (doesn't call up anything - just displays {%field#12})

This post has been edited by JON SNOW.: March 11th, 2014, 07:08 PM
Black
 Posted: March 11th, 2014, 07:18 PM
Quote
Finally finished.
Posts:290Group:AdministratorJoined:July 14th, 2013
Send Message


Do you have any of the admin/mod-only features in profiles enabled? It sounds like members without certain permissions are experiencing errors.

I know there's a moderator notes thing, and mod/admin-only custom profile fields, and so on. Darned if I know exactly what/where they are, though. The settings in Jcink's ACP are so scattered that unless you know exactly where they are, some of them are very difficult to locate.

Would you please turn the custom profile thing off, have staff and regular members screenshot what their own profiles look like, and then send those my way? It would give me a clearer picture of what's going on, honestly.
MAX ROCKATANSKY
 Posted: March 11th, 2014, 08:05 PM
Quote
Advanced Member
Posts:65Group:MemberJoined:November 19th, 2013
Send Message


okay yeah i went and changed all the places so that the field can be edited by the member and now it works for everyone. that's so weird.

thanks.

(i'm still a bit baffled about why {%field#1} pulls up a date tho?)
Kami
 Posted: March 12th, 2014, 04:00 PM
Quote
Newbie
Posts:2Group:New MemberJoined:March 12th, 2014
Send Message


Hi Black, first of all: thank you so much for making this script, I'm working on my first skin and it's really helping me design things the way I want. :3

However, I'm running into a bit of a problem. I'm trying to use {%marker} in my custom topics display, and I can't get it to show up at all. Not sure what I'm doing wrong? If I use it in customIndex.init it shows up fine on the boards, but no dice if I use it for the customTopics.init({ so it has me really confused. I noticed that both sections use the exact same name for the same thing so I'm not sure if that's what's causing a conflict??

Aaa I'm sorry I hope this is making sense, I'm bad at articulating sometimes. unu;; I just want an easy way for people to tell if there's new posts or not on a glance and I figured the markers would do that, buttttt...Not if they don't show haha.

Thanks in advanced for your help.
Black
 Posted: March 12th, 2014, 04:14 PM
Quote
Finally finished.
Posts:290Group:AdministratorJoined:July 14th, 2013
Send Message


No, that shouldn't be causing any kind of conflict. The modules are fairly independent of one another. Are you sure there's actually a marker next to the topics in question? Some topics don't have markers, if I recall correctly, and this might be why it's not showing up. If, however, a marker exists and it's still not appearing would you mind linking me to the board where you're experiencing this error? I can take a closer look that way.

Thanks for the compliments and for using my script! I truly do appreciate it.
Kami
 Posted: March 12th, 2014, 04:23 PM
Quote
Newbie
Posts:2Group:New MemberJoined:March 12th, 2014
Send Message


edit:

//cries

hahaha I fixed it, I'm so sorry for wasting your time. //noob coder rolls off into the sunset

This post has been edited by Kami: March 12th, 2014, 04:42 PM
Black
 Posted: March 12th, 2014, 05:42 PM
Quote
Finally finished.
Posts:290Group:AdministratorJoined:July 14th, 2013
Send Message


No problem! Glad the issue is fixed, whatever it was.
anna.
 Posted: March 13th, 2014, 02:06 PM
Quote
Newbie
Posts:2Group:New MemberJoined:March 13th, 2014
Send Message


    I love this script, and I've had such a fun time experimenting with making my forums/states/member profile pages look different. So thank you so much!!

    I do have a question, however; is there a value I could use to display the date of the user's last post on the member profile page? I have the one for activity, but I haven't been able to find one for last post date, so I was wondering if you possibly knew the value for it.

    edit; Is there one for awards, too? I'm looking for both in the meantime, but again if you know of it, that'd be fabulous. (:


This post has been edited by anna.: March 13th, 2014, 11:52 PM
ani
 Posted: March 15th, 2014, 02:01 AM
Quote
Newbie
Posts:1Group:New MemberJoined:March 15th, 2014
Send Message


i was wondering the same thing about a field showing the date the user has last posted. i know a lot of our members check them and it would be really useful to have.

i was playing around with the code yesterday and i was also wondering if there's a way to hide the "false" the script gives when there's nothing to show for a certain value (eg. the pagination for the custom topics structure when there are no pages to display, it throws out a false)

This post has been edited by ani: March 15th, 2014, 02:03 AM
anna.
 Posted: March 17th, 2014, 12:36 AM
Quote
Newbie
Posts:2Group:New MemberJoined:March 13th, 2014
Send Message


    I actually (through struggles with other fields lmao) found out that {%last-active} actually showed the last post date and {%field#1} showed the last activity. Not sure if it'll work the same for you, but it's worth a shot, right?

Topic OptionsPages: (9) 1 2 3 4 5 ... Last » Add ReplyNew Thread


 


 

   Chatbox
's reputation